The entire Chora of Mykonos is a wide open monument. Declared as a traditional settlement, it strongly resists to the explosive growth of the island and still holds the reigns of the most beautiful chora in Cyclades. Dressed in white, with her small picturesque streets, the cube houses characterized by its special architecture, chora is the reference point of each traveller and visitor from ancient times until today. The once only settlement of the island, except for the community of Ano Mera, and now widely spread, is the jewel of the island with countless historical and folklore treasures within it, which has inspired painters and poets.
Alefkandra: One of the most picturesque corners of the island is Alefkandra or little "Venice", a district with houses into the sea, which began to be built from the mid 18th century and were the houses of rich merchants and captains. Great architecture with colorful hagiatis, windows, doors, staircases, wooden balconies literally washed by the waves and give the district a scent from the renowned Italian town. A good idea would be to visit Mykonos shortly before or shortly after the large number of tourists. May, the first days of June, September, even October are very good periods to come. Everything works normally but no place is crowded. You will be able to move with comfort, you will enjoy peacefully some of the most famous beaches in Europe and the entire planet. It is, of course, interesting to see Mykonos also in bad weather. The spectacle of Alefkandra when the waves are crashing violently on the rocks and the water wets the buildings is very impressing. An image completely different than the usual one.
City Hall: A Brilliant 18th century building, with red tile roof, which is a rare thing for Mykonos and an interesting arcade of the facade, created by Russian consul earl John Voinovich during the Russian Domination in Cyclades (1770 to 1774). Formerly, it was called Kantzelaria. The building used to be joined to the space of the small church of Agios Nikolaos of Kadena, which was on a small island, with an arched bridge. The church of Agios Nikolaos of Kadena had been in this position at least since 1700, while the island-protector of the harbor from winds, exists in all naval maps since 15th century. In the beach, Kazarma is located, with arches which housed the soldiers of Manto Mavrogenous while the upper floor was her house.
Here also lies the old school of Mavros, which was built in 1857 designed by the Bavarian mechanic Weiler with expense of Egyptioti Markos Mavros. In a building which is dated around 1800 and hosted -in the past- some of the first coffee houses of the island, under the City Hall, VEGERA is today housed. It maintains all the elements of tradition while quite impressive are the huge arches inside it.
A few steps away from the shore and just behind Agia Kyriaki, at the ground floor of the mansion Kampani, the Public Library of Mykonos operates. On her shelves several important historical documents and more than 10,000 volumes of books, a rich collection of photographs and documents of the 18th and 19th century are hosted.
The Public Gallery of Mykonos is located in Matogianni inside the house of Mykonian painter Mary Inglesi. Every summer, in its two halls, temporary exhibitions of known and new artists with objects of painting, sculpture and photography are hosted. Open daily from the morning until late in the night.